Happy (belated) Birthday, America.

First, let me say, I’m not anti-patriotic. I’m not interested in “America bashing”–although, I’m concerned that a critical eye/voice is often viewed as one’s admission of being anti-American. Let me, however, briefly voice my concern with the peculiar phenomenon of obfuscation vis-a-vis the relationship between being-a-Christian and being-an-American.

Today, I read a significant number of statuses on facebook eerily similar to the following,

The way I see it, only two people have ever offered to die for you: Jesus Christ (for your soul) & the American soldier (for your freedom). Today, I think we should be grateful for both. GOD BLESS (and happy birthday) AMERICA!!

Okay, I have absolutely no problem with “happy birthday, America.” The significant problem with this quote (if you forget about the obvious critiques in theological [to name one categorical mistake] logic) is that it is not a singular phenomenon; the ubiquitously evangelical sentiment of Christian-American ontological homogeneity is disquieting.

4 thoughts on “Happy (belated) Birthday, America.

  1. apprentice2jesus 5 July 2010 at 8:21 am Reply

    Communist. 😉

    • Joshua C. Dorman 8 July 2010 at 12:38 am Reply

      Thanks, Comrade!

  2. adhunt 5 July 2010 at 9:48 am Reply

    ha!

  3. Diane 5 July 2010 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Hi from your new fb friend 🙂

    I think you’ll like coming to Candler this year — LTJ is fond of saying that the highest loyalty demands the highest critique. That is true of our faith and certainly true of our patriotism [although I would argue that Jesus > USArmy in terms of our loyalty!].

    See you in the fall!

Leave a Reply

